John Key has announced his new cabinet

John Key has announced his new cabinet, and has axed Kate Wilkinson and Phil Heatley.

I can understand Wilkinson, she was inept. Someone in Bill ENglish’s team had to get the axe to cover for Hekia Parata and so it was Kate. But I can’t for the life of me work out Phil Heatley…is John Key saying that Phil did a worse job than Hekia?

There is some bullshit in the press release about National nominating David Carter. Many MPs I have spoken to have wondered if they missed the caucus meeting resolving that particular nomination. This is a Bil English inspired stitch up that shows that Bill and his bratpack mates are very much still causing grief in the formerly smoke filled rooms. The nomination of Carter, ostensibly for his large donation gathering ability rather than any talent is a sop to rehabilitate Nick Smith.

Although there is some renewal bringing back Nick Smith and promoting Carter shows that Key is still beholden to Bill English, and rewards tired old faces.

The renewal looks promising with Simon Bridges rising into cabinet and taking on the Labour portfolio. Let’s hope he is small-dicked about his job in that role.

The full list is: 


John Key: Prime Minister, Minister of Tourism, Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services, Minister in Charge of the NZ Security, Intelligence Service
Minister Responsible for the GCSB.

Bill English: Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Finance.

Gerry Brownlee: Minister for Canterbury Earthquake Recovery, Minister of Transport, Leader of the House, Minister Responsible for the Earthquake, Commission.

Steven Joyce: Minister for Economic Development, Minister of Science and Innovation, Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment, Associate Minister of Finance.

Judith Collins: Minister of Justice, Minister for ACC, Minister for Ethnic Affairs.

Tony Ryall: Minister of Health, Minister for State Owned Enterprises.

Hekia Parata: Minister of Education, Minister of Pacific Island Affairs.

Christopher Finlayson: Attorney-General, Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations, Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage, Associate Minister of Maori Affairs.

Paula Bennett: Minister for Social Development Associate Minister of Housing.

Dr Jonathan Coleman: Minister of Defence, Minister of State Services, Associate Minister of Finance.

Murray McCully: Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister for Sport and Recreation.

Anne Tolley: Minister of Police, Minister of Corrections, Deputy Leader of the House.

Dr Nick Smith: Minister of Conservation, Minister of Housing.

Tim Groser: Minister of Trade, Minister for Climate Change Issues, Associate Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Amy Adams: Minister for the Environment, Minister for Communications and Information Technology, Associate Minister for Canterbury, Earthquake Recovery.

Nathan Guy: Minister for Primary Industries, Minister for Racing.

Craig Foss: Minister of Commerce, Minister of Consumer Affairs, Minister of Broadcasting, Associate Minister for ACC.

Chris Tremain: Minister of Internal Affairs, Minister of Local Government, Associate Minister of Tourism.

Simon Bridges: Minister of Energy and Resources, Minister of Labour, Associate Minister for Climate Change Issues.

Nikki Kaye: Minister for Food Safety, Minister of Civil Defence, Minister of Youth Affairs, Associate Minister of Education, Associate Minister of Immigration.

Ministers outside of Cabinet

Maurice Williamson: Minister for Building and Construction, Minister of Customs, Minister for Land Information, Minister of Statistics.

Jo Goodhew: Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector, Minister for Senior Citizens, Minister of Women’s Affairs, Associate Minister of Health, Associate Minister for Primary Industries.

Chester Borrows: Minister for Courts, Associate Minister of Justice, Associate Minister for Social Development.

Michael Woodhouse: Minister of Immigration, Minister of Veterans’ Affairs, Associate Minister of Transport.

Support party ministers

Peter Dunne: Minister of Revenue, Associate Minister of Conservation, Associate Minister of Health.

John Banks: Minister for Regulatory Reform, Minister for Small Business, Associate Minister of Commerce, Associate Minister of Education

Dr Pita Sharples: Minister of Maori Affairs, Associate Minister of Corrections, Associate Minister of Education.

Tariana Turia: Minister for Whanau Ora, Minister for Disability Issues, Associate Minister of Health, Associate Minister of Housing, Associate Minister for Social Development, Associate Minister for Tertiary, Education, Skills and Employment.

Do you want:

  • Ad-free access?
  • Access to our very popular daily crossword?
  • Access to daily sudoku?
  • Access to daily code cracker?
  • Access to Incite Politics magazine articles?
  • Access to podcasts?
  • Access to political polls?

Our subscribers’ financial support is the reason why we have been able to offer our latest service; Audio blogs. 

Click Here  to support us and watch the number of services grow.