Map of the day

Source –

Click image for a high-res view

Countries that do NOT use their own Currencies?

A classic example would be the Euro, which is used by 19 of the 28 member states of the EU. These are Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain.

However, the Euro is not the only example of a currency used in multiple countries.

Others include:

  • West African CFA franc:?Used by 8 countries in West Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo.
  • Central African CFA franc:?Used by 6 countries in Central Africa: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon. Also interestingly worth the same as the West African CFA franc ($1 USD = 570; at the time of writing).
  • East Caribbean Dollar:?Used by 6 independent countries: Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. Plus, British overseas territories of Anguilla and Montserrat.
  • CFP franc:?Used in the French overseas collectivities of French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna.