Ken Yee

Update on Botany

Two more names have been added to the Botany selection race. Perennial loser Ken Yee and bitter outsider Michael Williams.

Ken Yee personifies average and was previously beaten by Pansy Wong in standing for selection in Botany. It has been a long time since Ken Yee had a drink at any public trough after being tossed out as a councillor some time ago, by Jami-Lee Ross. I doubt, given the number of people coming forward that Ken will even make it through pre-selection.

Michael Williams is another wanna-be politician who is a legend in his own mind. he is the current Howick Local Board chairman, and his main attribute seems to be that he thinks it will cost les for a Community Board by-election than for a Council by-election. He is pompous and has a stunning ability to turn people off the moment he opens his mouth.

Meanwhile Auckland’s resident nutter Penny Bright has conformed with me that she will be putting her name forward for the by-election as an?independent. That should make candidates meetings?extremely?entertaining. I hope she brings her “dead cat” hat along.

The Standard provides some commentary on Botany, as well, with an interesting aside that Winston might have a crack. I hope he does, then I can needle him at every candidates meeting about his corruption and interesting.

Like Mediatart who comments here they make the same mistake is assuming the Botany of today existed in its current form anywhere past 3 years ago.

Will Winston stand? I think he might. It?s worth remembering that his first seat was Hunua, which he won in 1978. Now, three electorates called Hunua have existed three times with very different boundaries. The modern Hunua electorate borders Botany to the south but the 1978 Hunua was extended further north, and only included the Hunua ranges to the south, whereas the modern Hunua goes right across to the west coast. Most of the voters in the 1978 Hunua that Peters won lived in what is now Botany. Sure, it was 33 years ago, and it was a tight race against Labour?s Malcolm Douglas (Roger?s brother), with Peters losing in 1981 to Colin Moyle. Nonetheless, there would be a certain sense of grandeur, so typical of Winston, to returning to the political scene by fighting in the area that first elected him to Parliament.

When Winston was creeping through broken windows in Huna it is safe to say that there was nothing but farm land in Botany and Ti Rakau Drive ended in a compulsory stop sign and the back road to Howick. Talk of Hunua and Winston is just nostalgic tosh. Botany as an electorate was only formed for the 2008 election, until then it had been part of Pakuranga and Manukau East. It was formed by the taking the blue?parts?of Manukau East and melding them with parts of Pakuranga. There isn’t a snowballs chance in hell of Labour winning this seat. It is safe National and for that reason the person National selects must not be a fly by night candidate.

Bwahahahaha Never underestimate Little Johnny

’13 Labor candidates ineligible’ | The Australian

hat tip Adolf at No Minister
[quote]THE Liberal Party has claimed 13 Labor candidates are ineligible to stand in Saturday’s federal election.

Melbourne’s Herald Sun has reported the shock development threatens to create a major distraction for Kevin Rudd’s run to the poll.

According to Liberal Party headquarters, the 13 hopefuls are all ineligible because they failed to resign from Commonwealth jobs before nominating for parliament.

Under the relevant legislation, a candidate can only validly nominate for Federal Parliament if they no longer hold an office of profit under the Crown.

Legal advice suggests the ALP candidate for Wentworth, George Newhouse, may be ineligible for parliament and has compounded the problem by refusing to release relevant documentation.

Twelve other ALP candidates may be similarly affected, the Liberals claim.

This includes Victorian candidate for McEwen, Rob Mitchell, who the Liberal Party claims may still be employed as a senior adviser to the Brumby state government.

The others named by the Liberals are: Tony Zappia (Makin, SA), Yvette D’ath (Petrie, Qld), Peter Conway (ACT senate), Shayne Neumann (Blair, Qld), Garry Parr (Hinkler, Qld), Alan Neilan (Kennedy, Qld), Sharon Thiel (Kalgoorlie, WA), Belinda Neil (Robertson, NSW), Mark Buttugieg (Cook, NSW), Ross Daniels (Ryan, Qld), Mark Reynolds (Tangney, WA). [/quote]
Whoopsy, that makes winning 18 seats just that much harder. Oh the aching ribs, the stitch, the pain.

Powered by ScribeFire.